Quran to be translated into Swahili in Egypt

According to Mubashier.com, Egyptian Ministry of Religious Endowments announced that Swahili is the 10th language that it has selected for translation of the Islamic Holy book, Quran.

Swahili, also known as Kiswahili, is a Bantu language and the first language of the Swahili people.

It is a lingua franca of the African Great Lakes region and other parts of Southeast Africa, including Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Mozambique and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Egypt’s Awqaf ministry has so far had the Holy Quran translated into English, French, German, Spanish, Chinese, Albanian, Indonesian, Russian and Korean.

Last week, it said a new translation of the Holy Quran into Russian has been completed and will be published soon.

A team of translators and Quran scholars has done the rendering into the Russian language.