China invites Egypt and four more countries to BRICS Summit

Big 5

China has invited the leaders of Egypt, Mexico, Tajikistan, Thailand, and Guinea to the upcoming BRICS Summit, Russian Ambassador to China Andrey Denisov announced Monday.

The BRICS acronym stands for the names of five large developing economies, Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa.

Under the theme of “BRICS: Stronger Partnership for a Brighter Future”, the summit will be held in Chinese city of Xiamen on September 3-5. The leaders of the five countries have been holding annual summits since 2009.

“This year, China has invited Guinea and Egypt from Africa, Mexico from Latin America, Thailand from Southeast Asia, Tajikistan from Central Asia,” the ambassador said at a press conference.