India bans Twitter accounts of Pakistani embassies in Egypt, UN, Turkey, Iran

India has blocked Twitter’s accounts of Pakistani embassy in Egypt, UN, Turkey and Iran in accordance with the information technology act for 2000, the ministry of foreign affairs in Islamabad stated on Monday.

Moreover, India banned the official Pakistani diplomatic missions accounts, journalists and some prominent personalities.

“Deeply concerning that India has blocked the flow of information to Indian Twitter by withholding access to the following official accounts,” Pakistan’s ministry of foreign affairs tweeted.

“Diminishing space for plurality of voices and access to info in India is extremely alarming. SM platforms must abide by applicable int’l norms; we are urging Twitter to restore immediate access to our accounts and ensure adherence to democratic freedoms of speech and expression.” the ministry added in a tweet.


Leave a comment