Tarek Amer first Egyptian to take over Association of African Central Banks presidency

Big 5

Governor of the Central Bank of Egypt (CBE) Tarek Amer takes over the presidency of the Association of African Central Banks (AACB) for the new session (2018/2019).

Amer will succeed Governor of South African Central Bank Lesetja Kganyago.

He will be the first Egyptian to preside over the Senegal-headquartered AACB since its foundation in 1963.

Amer, who was serving before as the vice president of the AACB, will be assigned with putting into force the recommendations of the 41st meetings of the association, hosted by Egypt for the first time.

The idea of setting up the Association of African Central Banks was first introduced on May 25, 1963, at the Summit Conference of African Heads of State and Government held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

The Association, as of today, has an Assembly of Governors (the governing body of which are members all African Central Banks Governors), a Bureau (composed of the Chairperson and the Vice-Chairperson of the Association and Chairpersons of sub-regional Committees), sub-regional Committees (composed of Governors of Central Banks of the five (5) sub-regions as defined by the African Union).