Saudi Arabia, UAE, Egypt, Bahrain bracing for new sanctions against Qatar

Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Egypt, and Bahrain intend to take new economic, political, and legal measures against Qatar in a “timely manner,” after it refused to accept their demands over allegations that Doha supports extremist ideology, the Associated Press reported.

It was reported earlier that Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, and the UAE had announced that they broke diplomatic ties with Qatar, condemning Doha of supporting terrorist organizations and destabilizing the situation in the Middle East.

Later, the authorities of Libya, Yemen, Maldives, Mauritius, Mauritania, and The Comoros also informed that they were severing relations with Qatar.

Recently Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Egypt and Bahrain have sent Doha a list of 13 demands, including closing Al Jazeera television, reducing ties to their regional adversary Iran and closing of a Turkish military base in Qatar.