Apple to re-close more stores in U.S, bringing total to 77

Apple Inc said it would re-close more  stores in seven states in the United States starting from Thursday, bringing the total to 77 as coronavirus cases increase.

The stores are located in Alabama, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, and Oklahoma, the company announced on Wednesday, when additional stores had already closed in Florida, Mississippi, Texas, and Utah.

Apple taken a city-by-city approach to opening and closing stores, evaluating data for each community.

In cities where stores remain open, Apple requires face coverings for employees and customers while also performing temperature checks and frequent cleaning, Apple said.

Apple’s approach has meant that some stores remain open while others are closed in the same state.

In California, many Los Angeles area stores will close on Thursday as the region’s virus cases surge, while a flagship store in San Francisco’s Union Square shopping district remains open.

In Texas, stores in the Austin area had remained open until this week despite closings in Houston last week.

Apple closed all of its stores outside mainland China in March, and not all U.S. stores re-opened after the initial closures. Apple has said its retail employees will continue to be paid through the closures.