Google Map tracks everywhere you go, get to know how to automatically end this

If you do not Google Maps properly, it will automatically keep a detailed log of everywhere you go, whether you are walking, driving, or even flying anywhere across the world. It is wildly detailed down to the minute, and is able show where you were at any moment in time. CNBC shows how to automatically delete it.

That information given by Google Maps can be helpful for you. You might need to look back and see where you went during a past trip, for instance. Or you might also need to know how long it typically takes to drive somewhere you go often. Still, it is kind of creepy for some people to have years and years of that data stored on Google’s servers.

Here’s what to do:

  • Open Google Maps on iPhone or Android.
  • Tap the menu bar on the top-left of the app.
  • Choose “Your Timeline.”
  • Tap the three dots on the top-right of the screen.
  • Choose “Settings and privacy.”
  • Select “Automatically delete location history.”
  • Change the setting from “Keep until I delete manually” to “Keep for 18 months” or “Keep for 3 months.”

It is recommended forcing Google to delete after every 3 months. There is not much reason to hold on to your history for much longer than that, though you can choose 18 months if you disagree. Now, anything older than the time you set will be automatically deleted and will continue to be deleted by Google as time goes on.

Source: CNBC