Seven Of 17 New Regional Governors From Egypt’s Muslim Brotherhood

Egyptian President Mohamed Morsi issued a decree Sunday evening appointing 17 new provincial governors.

Seven of the new governors are members of the Muslim Brotherhood, the group from which the president hails, including those appointed to the Nile Delta governorates of Gharbiya and Menoufiya.

Adel El-Khayat, a member of the former militant group Al-Gamaa Al-Islamiya, was appointed governor of Upper Egypt’s touristic city of Luxor.

The appointments mean that the Muslim Brotherhood now controls the governorships in ten out of the country’s 27 provinces.

Sunday’s appointments also mean that at least nine other governorates will be run by military and police generals.

The newly-appointed governors are to be sworn in on Monday at the Presidential Palace in Cairo.

The last gubernatorial reshuffle – which included ten governorates – occurred last September.

The new governors:

Governor of Alexandria: Maher Babers

Governor of Red Sea: Major-General Tarek Mahdi

Governor of Ismailia: Hassan El-Hawi

Governor of Marsa Matrouh: Badr Tantawi El-Ghandour

Governor of New Valley: Mahmoud Mohamed Khalifa

Governor of Port Said: Samah Ahmed Qandil

Governor of Aswan: Ismail Hassan Attiyet-Allah

Governor of Damietta: Tarek Fatah-Allah Khidr

Governor of Luxor: Adel Asaad El-Khayat

Governor of Qena: Salah Abdel-Meguid

Governor of Beni Suef: Adel Abdel-Moneim Hassan

Governor of Daqahliya: Sobhi Atteya Younis

Governor of Menoufiya: Ahmed Shaarawi Mohamed

Governor of Qalioubiya: Hossam Abul-Ezz

Governor of Gharbiya: Ahmed El-Beili

Governor of Beheira: Osama Ibrahim Suleiman

Governor of Fayoum: Gaber Abdel-Salam Ibrahim

Source : Ahram

Leave a comment