13 Countries Lifted Travel Bans to Egypt – Minister

13 countries have recently lifted travel bans to Egypt, said the Egyptian tourism minister on Wednesday.

Tourism Minister Hisham Zaazou stated that the latest two countries, Austria and Ireland, lifted bans to holiday destinations in the Red Sea and South Sinai on Wednesday, according to Al-Masry Al-Youm newspaper.

A number of other countries have lifted bans on relaxed warnings to nationals travelling to Egypt, following the gradual easing of violence since the 14 August dispersals of two pro-Morsy sit-ins in Cairo and Giza which left thousands dead.

Zaazou said the ministry launched a public relations campaign to market Egyptian tourism and reassure would-be visitors about the situation there.

Hurghada International Airport received 1,000 German tourists on Wednesday morning, he added.

Countries that have reduced travel warnings to Egypt include Germany, Hungary, Denmark, the Netherlands, Finland, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Norway, France, Slovenia, Belgium, The Czech Republic, Sweden, Estonia, and Switzerland.