Saudi, Qatari oil ministers absent from OAPEC Ministerial Conference in Cairo

A number of Arab oil ministers were absent from the Ministerial Conference of Arab Petroleum Exporting Countries (OAPEC) that takes place in Cairo today.

Representatives of Saudi, Qatari, Emirati, and Bahraini oil ministers attended the 97th session of the ministerial meeting of OAPEC.

The 97th session will review the situation of the international petroleum market, the organizational issues and the evaluation of this organization’s activities, said the source.

OAPEC encompasses ten Arab petroleum exporting countries: Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Libya, Algeria, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Iraq, Syria and Egypt.

Egyptian Oil Minister Tarek El-Molla stated that the ministerial conference aims to exchange industry perspectives, as well as review updated status of markets and the effect on the oil and gas industry.

“The programme includes the authorisation of the budget of the General Secretariat and the Judiciary Authority of the OAPEC, along with following up on the activities of the general secretaries of the OAPEC, including activities related to environmental and climate changes,”, the minister added.