Egypt forms government unit to boost cooperation with BRICS countries

Egypt announced on Wednesday it would form a government unit to facilitate cooperation with BRICS countries.

The decision was approved in a Cabinet meeting chaired by Prime Minister Moustafa Madbouly.

The unit, set to be at the Egyptian Cabinet’s headquarters in the northern coastal city of New Alamein, “will be responsible for any work related to promoting cooperation with the BRICS group,” the statement read.

It will comprise ministers and officials who are concerned with BRICS, an acronym for a bloc of emerging economies that groups Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa.

On August 24, BRICS countries agreed to invite six countries, namely Egypt, Saudi Arabia, the UAE, Argentina, Ethiopia, and Iran, to join the bloc as of January 1, 2024.

Egypt officially submitted its application to join the BRICS bloc in June.

Leave a comment